Organisers hope changes to the voting rules will create a dramatic finish to this year’s Eurovision Song Contest in Stockholm.

In previous years, each country’s jury and public votes have been combined and announced in one go, meaning the winner has been known for up to 20 minutes before the end of voting.

Now, the votes will be split with each country’s jury vote cast first, and votes from viewers in all countries combined and announced at the end.

The new voting system is a “big step forward”, says Eurovision executive supervisor Jon Ola Sand, that will “make a better television show as well as a more exciting competition”.

It is fitting that this change to the contest’s iconic scoring sequence will be debuted in Stockholm, where the famous douze points system was introduced in 1975,” he said.

Australia made its Eurovision debut last year as a guest nation with Guy Sebastian finishing fifth in Vienna. We have been invited back this year to compete – and the early money is on Delta Goodrem.

While TV network SBS is remaining tight-lipped about who will be flying the Aussie flag, industry rumours are rife that the Born To Try singer will be our representative.

This year’s Eurovision Song Contest takes place in the Swedish capital on May 10, 12 and 14.

CLICK HERE for an explanation of how the new voting system works or watch the video below.




QNews, Brisbane Gay, App, Gay App, LGBTI, LGBTI News, Gay Australia

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *