Three Queensland legends to join the Sportsman Hotel Drag Hall of Fame

sportsman hotel drag hall of fame 2022 sasha trajik-mole iona toyboy toye de wilde drag queen brisbane queensland wanda d'parke
Images: Instagram, Facebook, Amsnel Gorgonio

The Sportsman Hotel has unveiled the names of the three local stars heading into its Queensland Drag Hall of Fame this year.

The Drag Hall of Fame is located in the Lounge Bar of the venue, which is proudly Brisbane’s home of drag.

Each year, Sporties honours a group of performers for their contributions to Queensland’s drag scene and LGBTIQ+ community.

And on Saturday, February 12, Sporties will induct another three Queensland legends.

Queensland drag legends Sasha Trajik-Mole and Iona Toyboy (above, left and centre) will be inducted, as will legendary Queensland performer and activist Toye de Wilde (above right).

“We honour selected entertainers who have contributed so much to our community with their entertainment and charity work,” the Sporties team said.

The three local icons will all be honoured in an induction ceremony at the venue on Saturday, February 12.

Sasha and Iona will accept their honours in person, however Toye is sadly unable to attend.

Wanda D’Parke will host the ceremony from 10pm, with special performances that evening.

Wanda, who is a Drag Hall of Famer, said the honour recognises the performers’ contributions to community, the local drag scene as well as activism and charity work.

“Sporties decides the Hall of Fame inductees on many criteria,” Wanda explained.

“It’s about the performer themselves, how they take care of their punters, as well as everything they’ve done for the community.

“It’s recognition for a long and dedicated career in our community and an incredible contribution to the Brisbane drag scene.”

Long list of legends in Sportsman Hotel Drag Hall of Fame

The Sportsman Hotel immortalises each member of the Drag Hall of Fame on the Lounge Bar wall.

Drag legends Miss Synthetique, Dame Sybil Von Thorndyke, Dame Liz Taylor, and Wanda D’Parke were the first in 2017.

Then, Betty Nature, Trixie Onassis, Yana Michelle and also longtime Queensland producer Gavin Anthony joined them.

In late 2019, the Sportsman Hotel then inducted drag star Candy Surprise. Performers Malika and and Ella Va’lay followed in January 2020.

Last year, drag legends Tara Ra Boom Deay, Sue Wridge and veteran showgirl Hazel La Belle received the honour.

The Sportsman Hotel’s 2022 Drag Hall of Fame induction ceremony is at the Brisbane venue on Saturday, February 12. Find out more at the Facebook page or Sportsman Hotel website here.

For the latest lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex and queer (LGBTIQ) news in Australia, visit Check out our latest magazines or find us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube.

QNews, Brisbane Gay, App, Gay App, LGBTI, LGBTI News, Gay Australia

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.