Cast your votes now for this year’s Queens Ball Award nominees

Brisbane drag queens at the Queens Ball Awards 2022
Image: Funky Munky

Brisbane Pride has unveiled a bumper list of nominees and opened voting for the 62nd annual Queens Ball Awards next month.

The Queens Ball is the longest-running continuous LGBTIQIA+SB event in the world. Next month, the glittering gala event will return to the City Hall with this year’s theme of “Wear Your Pride”.

Organisers Brisbane Pride say this year, there’s a much larger and more diverse pool of Queens Ball Award nominees than ever before.

It comes after the Queen’s Ball allowed self-nomination for the first time, and scrapped the use of an independent panel and allowed all nominations to go to the voting stage.

Further, all voters this year can opt to only vote in the Queens Ball Award categories of their choosing should they wish.

Voting on all 14 of the Queens Ball Awards is now open until midnight on May 24, 2023 via the Brisbane Pride website.

All winners will be announced at the 62nd Queens Ball at Brisbane City Hall on June 17, 2023. Tickets are on sale now via Eventbrite.

Read full Queens Ball Award nominee bios at the Brisbane Pride website

First Nations Leadership and Engagement Award
Bizzi Lavelle
Jorden Sutherland
Bec Johnson OAM

Activist of the Year
Allan Bell
James Fowler
Cai Wood
Sacha Faddoul
Thalia Novela
Freddie Wintrip
Ezarco Dos Santos
Bindi Lavelle
Anton Cavalli

Ally of the Year
Hugh Whitehouse
Mel Sutherland
Jan Thwaites
Maddy Schneider
Mama Arsenic
Kellie Turner

Young Achievement Award
James Fowler
Ray Paice
Beverly Kills

Community Social Group
Queensland Pups & Handlers Inc
The Boot Co Brisbane
Tranzmission Radio
QLD Camping Bears
Queer and Here

Community Support Group
Rainbow Inclusions Brisbane
Australian Transgender Support Association of Queensland (ATSAQ)
Diverse Voices
Free Mum Hugs

Event of the Year
Queer + Here
CWC Cabaret
Queer Sister Smackdown
Cult The Show
World’s Greatest Shave by Haus of E Productions
The Alexander Ball
Point of Change
The Switch Up
The Mystical Menagerie
Balls Out Bingo Brisbane
Big Gay Day
COLADA Pool Party
Dancing with the Queens
Palace Ipswich
The Brisbane Open GLTA Masters Series Tennis Tournament

Venue of the Year
The Wickham
The Sportsman Hotel
Banshees Bar and Art Space
Queens Fortitude Valley
The Brightside Brisbane
The Beat

DJ of the Year
DJ Galleon
DJ Pup Kaiden
Les Smith

Artist of the Year
Micah Rustichelli
Esther Dougherty
Alex Micheals
Andrew Goldberg
Mystique Muse
Jill Kerswill
Chad St James
Matt Poser
Micheal Irwin
Benjamin (Banjo Bonfire) Dutton
Mandi Falkner
Richie LeStrange
Savannah Fry
Tina Eastley

Drag Performer of the Year
Yana Michelle
Henny Spaghetti
Katya Lou-King
Luna Thicc
Justine Deeva
Lulu LeMans
Beverly Kills
Lady Sasscroutch
HOvanna Crown
Holly Spirit
Kim Schotte
Indi Pendant
Stefani Stefani
Scarlett Fever
Mandy Moobs
Wilhelmina Westwood
Crimson Coco
Bebe Gunn
Dahlia Dyer
Gogo Bumhole
Archie Arsenic
Aurora Arsenic
Liz Anya
Thalia Novela
Candy Surprise

Volunteer of the Year
Natee Cooper
Shane Thomas

Community Sporting Group
Brisbane Tritons
Brisbane Hustlers
Team Brisbane Tennis

Performer of the Year
Madeline Glasseater
Chris Braithwaite
Garret Lyon
Mara Maraschino
Trigger Happy
Phoenix Knight
Mystique Muse
Fortuna Maxima
Archie Arsenic

For the latest lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex and queer (LGBTIQ) news in Australia, visit Check out our latest magazines or find us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube.

Jordan Hirst
Jordan Hirst

Jordan Hirst is an experienced journalist and content creator with a career spanning over a decade at QNews. Since 2012, the Brisbane local has covered an enormous range of topics and subjects in-depth affecting the LGBTIQA+ community, both in Australia and overseas. Today, the Brisbane-based journalist covers everything from current affairs, politics and health to sport and entertainment.

QNews, Brisbane Gay, App, Gay App, LGBTI, LGBTI News, Gay Australia

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *