Voting Is Now Open For The 2018 Queens Ball Awards

2018 Queen's Ball Awards
Photo: Brisbane Pride

The nominees of the 2018 Queens Ball Awards have been unveiled.

This year’s seventeen awards recognise individuals, organisations and events for their outstanding contributions to the LGBTIQ community and will be presented during the 57th Annual Queen’s Ball event in Brisbane.

The event will be held at Brisbane City Hall on June 16, and voting for the 2018 Queens Ball Awards is now open on Brisbane Pride’s website here.

“This year’s event is the 57th year of celebrating our community and continues to make the Queen’s Ball the longest-running LGBTIQ event in the world,” Brisbane Pride said.

Tickets to the Queen’s Ball Awards are on sale now here.

Proceeds from the event will go to Brisbane Pride and the Kal Collins Memorial Fund, which provides community grants promoting LGBTIQ mental health and suicide prevention.

See the full list of Queen’s Ball Award nominees below:

Activist of the Year

Matilda Alexander
Shelley Argent
Peter Black
Marjorie Blowers
Thomas Coyne
Alex David
Roz Dickson
Michael James
Paige Wilcox

Adult Venue of the Year

The Den
Number 29
Black Rabbit

Ally of the Year

Shelley Argent
Andrew Bartlett
Belinda Birtles
Eveline Hookman
Miff Pate
Jan Thwaites

Annual Event of the Year

Big Gay Day
Bootco’s Leather Pride Week
Sunshine Coast Fair Day
Trans Fair Day
World AIDS Day Candlelight Vigil

Artist of the Year

John Bortolin
Joel Devereaux
The Final Touch Wig Style (Taylor Ette)
Dylan Hodgon
Matt Poser
Mikarla Teague

Community Social Group Of the Year

Brisbane Hustlers
Brisbane Tritons

Community Support Group of the Year

Diverse Voices
LGBTI Legal Service
Many Genders One Voice
Open Doors
Queensland AIDS Council

DJ of the Year

Master Sergeant
DJ Merlin
DJ Vinceable

First Nations Leadership and Engagement Award

Aunty Dawn
Phillip Sariago
Tanya Quakawoot

Drag Performer of the Year

Tina Bikki
Chocolate Boxx
Melony Brests
Bebe Gunn
Vollie La Vont
Mandy Moobs
Candy Surprise

Licensed Venue of the Year

The Beat Megaclub – Brisbane
Rise Bar & Grill – Gold Coast
The Sportsman Hotel – Brisbane
The Wickham – Brisbane

Media Personality of the Year

Andrew Blythe
Blair Martin
Chad St. James
Jordan Hirst
Michael James
Ruth Gardner

Performer of the Year

Archie Arsenic
Jacqueline Furey
Paul Jay (Candy Surprise)
Being Jane Lane
Kurt Phelan

Regular Event of the Year

Balls Out Bingo

Volunteer of the Year

Matilda Alexander
Marjorie Blower
Benjamin Bullivant
Neil Forster
Michael James
Emile McPhee
Anthony Yates

Young Achiever of the Year (25 Years and Under)

Samuel Bouzanquet
Tom Clark
Josh Goyne
Alison Wright

For the latest lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex and queer (LGBTIQ) news in Australia, visit Check out our latest magazines or find us on Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube.

Nerelle Harper

Nerelle is a contributor for QN Magazine and QNEWS Online

QNews, Brisbane Gay, App, Gay App, LGBTI, LGBTI News, Gay Australia