Four Aussie states recognise overseas same-sex marriages

overseas same-sex marriages

Victoria recently joined Queensland, Tasmania, and New South Wales in recognising overseas same-sex marriages with the recent passing of the Relationships Amendment Bill through the Victorian parliament.

Despite Australia still not allowing same-sex marriages domestically, the changes mean that the majority of Australian states now recognise overseas same-sex marriages – a point which activists such as Australian Marriage Equality National Director Rodney Croome says puts pressure on the Federal Government to act.


“With 80% of Australians now living in states that recognise overseas same-sex marriages it’s time for the federal government to provide recognition across the country,” Mr Croome said.

“The failure of national law to recognise overseas same-sex marriages demeans the solemn vows of lifelong commitment Australian couples have made overseas and insults the countries under whose laws they have married.”

For the latest lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex and queer (LGBTIQ) news in Australia, visit Check out our latest magazines or find us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube.

QNews, Brisbane Gay, Donate, Support, Gay, Gay Australia

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *